

OFFICE OF THE UNDER SECRETARY OF DEFENSE 3000 DEFENSE PENTAGON WASHINGTON, DC 20301-3000

APR 2 1 2017

MEMORANDUM FOR SECRETARIES OF THE MILITARY DEPARTMENTS DIRECTORS OF DEFENSE AGENCIES

SUBJECT: Announcement of the 2017 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards Winners

It is my pleasure to announce the winners of the 2017 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards. The Department has honored individuals, teams, and installations each year since 1962 for their outstanding achievements in innovative and cost-effective environmental practices that successfully support mission readiness. The following 2017 winners continue this distinguished tradition:

- Natural Resources Conservation, Large Installation: Camp Ripley, Minnesota Army National Guard
- Environmental Quality, Industrial Installation: Marine Corps Logistics Base, Barstow, California
- Environmental Quality, Overseas Installation: U.S. Army Garrison Bavaria, Germany
- Sustainability, Non-Industrial Installation: Eglin Air Force Base, Florida
- Sustainability, Individual/Team: Mr. Jeffery D. Schone, Luke Air Force Base, Arizona
- Environmental Restoration, Installation: Travis Air Force Base, California
- Cultural Resources Management, Small Installation: Commander, Fleet Activities, Yokosuka, Japan
- Cultural Resources Management, Individual/Team: Cultural Resources Management Team, Alabama Army National Guard
- Environmental Excellence in Weapon System Acquisition, Small Program: Chromium-Free Wash Primer Replacement Team, U.S. Army Research Laboratory, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland

Congratulations to the 2017 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards winners. Their outstanding achievements exemplify the Department's continued commitment to integrate our national defense mission with sound environmental management.

James A. MacStravic

Amacke

Performing the Duties of the Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology, and Logistics