What’s New

The Department of Defense has announced the winners of the 2024 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards. The nine winners chosen from 31 nominations are:

  • Natural Resources Conservation, Small Installation: Minot Air Force Base, North Dakota
  • Natural Resources Conservation, Individual/Team: Mr. Hugo Cobos, Kadena Air Base, Japan
  • Environmental Quality, Non-Industrial Installation: Eglin Air Force Base, Florida
  • Environmental Quality, Individual/Team: Guam Environmental Quality Team, Marine Corps Base Camp Blaz, Guam
  • Sustainability, Industrial Installation: Tobyhanna Army Depot, Pennsylvania
  • Environmental Restoration, Installation: Portsmouth Naval Shipyard, Maine
  • Environmental Restoration, Individual/Team: Environmental Restoration Team, Vieques Naval Installation, Puerto Rico
  • Cultural Resources Management, Large Installation: Hill Air Force Base, Utah
  • Environmental Excellence in Weapon Systems Acquisition, Individual/Team: F-35 Lightning II Environmental, Safety, and Occupational Health Team, Maryland

Nominations for the 2024 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards are due by February 23, 2024, using the guidance issued by the Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Energy, Installations, and Environment. Each Military Service and Defense Agency may submit one nomination for each of the five installation and four individual/team award categories listed in the guidance for accomplishments during the period October 1, 2021 through September 30, 2023. The Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards have honored installations, teams, and individuals for their outstanding achievements in Department of Defense environmental programs each year since 1962.