

## **DoD Announces Winners of the Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards**

The Department of Defense has announced the winners of the 2011 Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards. A panel of judges representing federal and state agencies, academia, and the public has selected the following installations, teams, and individuals as the winners of this year's awards:

Joint Base Lewis-McChord, Washington Sustainability – Non-Industrial Installation

The Exchange Corporate Sustainability Program, Army and Air Force Exchange Service, Texas Sustainability – Individual/Team

U.S. Army Garrison Grafenwoehr, Germany Environmental Quality – Overseas Installation

Sustainable Painting Operations for the Total Army, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland Environmental Excellence in Weapons Systems Acquisition – Small Program

88<sup>th</sup> Air Base Wing Civil Engineering Directorate, Environmental Branch, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio

Cultural Resources Management - Installation

Cultural Resources Management Team, Eglin Air Force Base, Florida Cultural Resources Management – Individual/Team

> Cape Canaveral Air Force Station, Florida Environmental Restoration - Installation

Eglin Air Force Base, Florida Natural Resources Conservation – Large Installation

Defense Supply Center, Richmond, Virginia Environmental Quality – Industrial Installation

Each year since 1962, the Secretary of Defense has honored individuals, teams, and installations for their outstanding achievements to conserve and sustain the natural and cultural resources entrusted to the Department of Defense. The Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology & Logistics will host the ceremony honoring the winners on June 8<sup>th</sup>, 2011 at 11:00 a.m. in the Pentagon Auditorium. For more information on the Secretary of Defense Environmental Awards and highlights of this year's winners and honorable mentions, please visit:

www.denix.osd.mil/awards/FY10SECDEF.cfm